Select Page

The Parlotones released their album ‘China’ through Butler Records on the 29th of March 2019. 

Creative art director Ryan Du Toit_Photographer Andre Badenhorst_Make up Leila Hayward and Jedine Viljoen1

The Parlotones are South Africa’s biggest selling rock act ever with 600,000+ albums sales worldwide. All the more impressive when you consider this has been achieved via independent record labels in just a few key markets. Double Platinum, Platinum and Gold Records saturate the band’s discography. Their live story is even more humbling having played live to over 2 million people in their career to date. Add to that the 1 Billion people that watched the band on TV as they opened the 2010 soccer World Cup, and you get a sense of this band’s success so far.

When The Parlotones first met in 1998 in Johannesburg, little did they know that they would go on to write one of the greatest Rock ‘n Roll stories South Africa had ever seen. Their hard working, humble attitude, dedication and commitment to their music has seen them enjoy a career that has spanned 20 years, achieved multi platinum selling status and accumulated numerous awards.

Their career to date has spanned over 20 years in which they released eight studio albums and three live albums, some of them achieving multi-platinum selling status, and won numerous awards. The band has toured internationally since 2007, visiting the UK, Germany, Austria, Switzerland and North America, as well as playing shows in South America, Canada, Australia, Japan and Russia. They toured with Coldplay, Starsailor, Ash, The Wombats, Snow Patrol and Blue October.

More recently, lead singer Kahn Morbee has become a coach on South Africa’s version of ‘The Voice’, allowing a new generation of music hopefuls to benefit from his incredible journey and vast experience.To celebrate their 20th anniversary as a band they recorded the album ‘China’, named after the traditional wedding gift for couples celebrating 20 years of marriage. The album was recorded at High Seas Studios in Johannesburg and the band feels it captures a unique sound and represents a new era for them.



01. Buckle up
02. Antidote
03. Leave A Light On
04. Can You Feel it?
05. Beautiful Life
06. Like Dynamite
07. Golden Lion
08. Downtown Love
09. Young & The Guilty
10. I Feel Over Nothing
11. Side By Side
12. Only The Good Die Young
13. Manufactured Kings
14. Keep Reminding Me
15. Heat Of The Moment
16. Goodbye To The Show

Stream ‘China’ here:

Release date: 2019.03.29
Barcode CD: 8718627228760